Read It Like This

Sometimes when I write a poem that I am really excited about, I get my wife to read it out loud to me.  It’s disappointing when I realize it doesn’t exactly sound like I intended it to.  When I write the lyrics, it’s like song in my head, I have a rhythm, but even with punctuations, it is still difficult to convey the intonations and rhythm that I have in my head as I write.

When I read back my poems, they sound wonderful and I can’t wait to publish so everyone can read them the same way.  But then I thought, “What if the reader doesn’t read it like that?  They are going to miss the gist of it.  It doesn’t even sound as good if not read the way I intended.”  I wish I could read my poems to you instead of writing them but unfortunately I can’t.

That makes me wonder about those poems we dissect in school.  Is that exactly what the writer, who is long dead, wanted us to get out of his poem or is it just us interpreting it in our own way?  Who knows.  In the meantime, go ahead and read my poems your way.  Then read it over again, but this time read it like this…

 

Leave a Reply

