The Shadow

I don’t know my dad, never did.
The man who some say I
resemble. Just in looks, I hope.
Stories from my mom
and family, tells of
a funny man, like me.
But I hope that’s where it
ends.

Saw him once, I did.
So close we were but so far.
I expected more. Like a hug.
But nothing came from The
Shadow that he was to me.
Less than a friend.

I still hear of him. Yes he lives. And
I wonder, if he thinks of me.  Misses me.
Wishes he could hug me. Talk to me
Like a dad to a son. And meet my
boys.  Who have heard so much about
The Shadow.

So much to say but I can’t
talk to a Shadow.  It won’t matter.
Do I love him? How could I love the unknown?
Forgive him? Yes I do but for what?  I don’t
Know.  I learn from him what not to
do.  To be there for my own and to love.
Not be
The Shadow.

One thought on “The Shadow

  1. Pingback: The Shadow | semaseph

Leave a Reply

